I had so many ideas I wanted to try. Sometimes a crazy idea comes to mind and I just couldn’t rest until I tried it! – A guest blog by Glenn Howard

My name is Glenn Howard Weidman and I have been a welder for over 21 years now. I have been a rig welder in the oil and gas fields of Colorado for the last ten years.

Picture1It was only about two years ago that I attempted any decorative iron work. I was actually inspired by my son Manny who is himself an incredibly gifted sketch artist. (He had to get it from somewhere, right?) We started out by having him draw flowers or animals in plate steel and I would cut them out with an oxy-acetylene torch. From there I was hooked. I had so many ideas I wanted to try. Sometimes a crazy idea comes to mind and I just couldn’t rest until I tried it!

I’ve always loved the freedom and endless possibilities involved in decorative iron work. When I’m welding pipe in the oil field I have very strict parameters I have to conform to, both in dimensions and X-Ray inspection. But, when I’m fabricating a decorative piece I can leave the square and tape measure in the tool box. The shape can be anything I envision. I often change my mind or vary the general concept several times before completion.

Lately, I’ve done a lot of horseshoe pieces. It seems to reflect the culture of the area I live in. Besides, the horseshoes are given to me, free of charge! It’s a fun concept with limitless possibilities.

I hope to start doing much more decorative metal work professionally in the future. I would like to find a shop and start taking on decorative iron jobs like the pieces featured here, railings, sculptures or whatever I and a customer can envision.

If you’d like to find out more about what I do, you can see my Facebook page here – https://www.facebook.com/glenn.weidman



Leave a Reply

