Guest Blog: Going Ape with Scrap Metal!

David in his workshop

David in his workshop

This week’s guest blog comes from David Vernede, 32, France.

I have worked at a factory constructing parts for planes for 4 years. I’m surrounded by steel every day, and around two years ago, decided I would start using metal to create sculptures in my spare time.

I’ve always been interested in art, particularly tattoo art. I used to design skull tattoos, and that has passed over into my metal work, so it’s a mix of both worlds really.

I‘m very passionate about recycling, and because of that, most of my pieces are created using scrap and waste metal – often from cars and motorcycles. Anything I can find that can be welded, I’ll try to use.

david

David used this red car bonnet to create his giant fish sculpture

 

There’s no better feeling than finding a piece of scrap metal going to waste, and then seeing the same piece of metal used on a finished sculpture.

gorilla doneOne of the pieces I’m most proud of is a sculpture of life-sized Gorilla. It took me around 350 hours to complete in total, with the skull alone taking around 25 hours. However, it was actually much longer as it took me a year to find all the parts, and I also had other pieces I was working on at the same time.

If you’d like to see more of David’s amazing work, please visit D. Vernede Concept on Facebook.

You can also find our previous guest blogs at Horsing Around with Metal and On the Ball with Metal.

Facebook: The Metal Store UK
Twitter: @TheMetalStoreUK
Website: www.themetalstore.co.uk

If you’re interested in being a Guest Blogger for The Metal Store feel free to get in touch with us, we’d love to showcase your work!

One Comment on “Guest Blog: Going Ape with Scrap Metal!”

  1. […] also find our previous guest blogs at, Horsing Around with Metal, On the Ball with Metal and Going Ape with Scrap Metal, Bridging the Gap Between Metal and Art and Hammering Home The Possibilities of […]


Leave a Reply

